WACEP Awards Program

Distinguished Service Award

The 2020 WACEP Distinguished Service Award was presented to Michael Repplinger, MD, PhD, FACEP during the virtual Annual Membership Meeting on September 15, 2020. 

Over the last 10 years, Dr. Michael Repplinger has demonstrated a commitment to improving patient care and promoting the profession of emergency medicine. He was UW’s first resident delegate to the WACEP Board and has continued to serve in various roles in WACEP including President in 2013 and Councilor for the past 3 years. During his tenure on the Board, Dr. Repplinger has substantially contributed to numerous WACEP initiatives, resulting in important changes to Wisconsin’s statutes. Examples include changing the statutory definition of informed consent for medical care, reinstating medical malpractice caps for noneconomic damages, and providing statutory liability protection when conducting body cavity searches. 

Outside of political lobbying, Dr. Repplinger has advocated for emergency physicians at the Wisconsin Medical Society and in teaching medical students and residents. He has personally penned and successfully promoted the adoption of resolutions favorable to emergency medicine including a policy supporting the increase of Medicaid reimbursement for EMTALA-related services. Current initiatives led or substantially bolstered by Dr. Repplinger include streamlining and standardizing the medical assessment of patients being admitted with mental health crises, improving the current version of a web-based statewide psychiatric bed locator, and reversing the current Medicaid policy that bars reimbursement for inpatient psychiatric care at freestanding psychiatric hospitals. 

Beyond his patient and profession-centered advocacy efforts, Dr. Repplinger is a stellar emergency care researcher, focused on the use of radiation-free imaging in the ED. He has been awarded several federal, foundation, and institutional grants, published nearly 40 peer-reviewed articles, and received numerous research awards. His unique line of research is innovative and practice changing. 

For all these reasons and more, WACEP is delighted to announce that Dr. Repplinger is this year’s recipient of the Distinguished Service Award.

The WACEP Distinguished Service Award program began in 2018 to annually recognize a WACEP member who has made extraordinary contributions to the advancement of the emergency medicine specialty, and who has demonstrated the ideals of the organization through their ongoing activities and accomplishments.  The recipient will be recognized during the annual WACEP Spring Symposium. 
Submit Nomination (deadline: March 1st).  
Past Distinguished Service Award recipients include:
  • 2020 - Michael Repplinger, MD, PhD, FACEP
  • 2019 - Howard J. Croft, MD, FACEP
  • 2018 - Azita Hamedani, MD, MBA, MPH, FACEP

THe Howard J. Croft Resident Advocate Award 

This award will annually recognize a resident from each of the Wisconsin’s Emergency Medicine Residency programs for exemplary advocacy in the field of emergency medicine.  Nominees must act to bring about change that advances the emergency care of our community.  Examples include, but are not limited to, through participating in political advocacy, delivering patient education, and advancing patient centered care.  Nominations are submitted directly from each Residency Program by March 1st. 


This award provides up to $1,000 in funding for one resident to attend the annual ACEP Council meeting as an alternate delegate from Wisconsin. The selected resident is expected to attend all Council activities, an informal Wisconsin delegation meeting to discuss reference committee proceedings, and the annual Wisconsin meet-up reception. Nominations are solicited by the WACEP Councillors and the Board of Directors by July 30.